A new post announced it

Our reliable, ever watchful friend LessonWang brought the news as usual β€” a new Slowly stamp set had been released. Somewhere in the World, usually going unannounced by the Slowly Team (which is a pity, in fact).

But thanks to LW, we slowly stamp fans get the news soon, and can start plotting ways to get these new stamps.


Methods do vary...

Do I have a penpal in that location ? (assuming it's not a World wide, open availability stamp or set).

If not, how could I get one? Find a willing trade partner (we do that at our Reddit sub for Slowly app, among many other things too).

Made my plans, and had just started making arrangements when I discovered they were not needed. At all. Since my penpal from Europe had travelled to the Far East, and sent me a Gift – thank you, F., very kind of you! β€πŸ™‚βœ”


The new Singapore English – Singlish set

F. sent me the gift earlier today, and I replied with a full letter, very enjoyable to write, sharing some of my most recent exploits. So follow up and see what I had to say.


And the letter begins

Hello F.!

And thank you so much, what a pleasant surprise. πŸ™‚πŸ‘Œ

I contacted an Asian friend, hoping to have some coins and purchase the new SG stamp set. When we got to the gifting stage (I didn't even have enough balance yet) he said he could not complete the transaction β€” as Yann2 already owned the set, Wooot! 😜❀

Have been having fun learning and experimenting with a new and very simple blogging platform, called 'Zonelets'.

Mentioned to you Write.Freely and how I enjoy writing posts there, in MarkDown code, and it's so pleasant. Well, Zonelets goes a few steps further, and assumes you will use plain html markup code for all of the post. This is a pain in the butt, but there's lots of new things which have been added to the web since the last time I created a webpage (likely, before year 2000, honest). πŸ˜‹


A new and interesting project

I started on it a few days ago, and already have 5 or 6 pages β€” including one showing how I can use my regular Write.Freely work environment, with all the nice MarkDown support, and simply build a whole post there, as usual.

When completed, I can post it to my WF hosts, or if preferred, simply use View Code, to see the raw page in html β€” and an easy copy and paste into the Zonelets version of the post.

Amazing, it's lovely. The first post I made was in plain text editor, and the HTML tags are obtrusive and distracting. I did not write as normally I would, since it too a lot more effort.


A better way? Markdown to the rescue

But the second or third post, I had this new method hatched up and it's working super nice. Made a big page today, and it looks identical in both blog platforms.

Zonelets actually is helping me in allowing this bare knuckles experimentation, the 2 by 4s and plywood, build her from scratch approach. And since it's so simple, I am not afraid of touching the style sheets (something I never done in Write.freely). And I can see I am already learning skills which will transfer right across the board.


And a new development, today's project

Today I made an experiment, and with assistance from a young programmer friend, managed to create a new feature and enhancement for the whole Zonelets platform β€” and that was fun. Who would have thought things could get so complicated, for what appeared to be a simple task? Yes, they did, indeed. πŸ˜œπŸ™„

CORS, javascript modules, syntax errors. I stumbled upon various barriers, but got it working. And that feels nice. πŸ™‚β€

Thank you for this gift, F. – it's much appreciated, very kind of you.

Till next time, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Yann2.


Famous Last Words

Special Thank You to the folks behind this wonderful app β€” all the hard working people at Slowly Communications.

Letters we share, with pen pals all over the World, via the magic of the Slowly App. A modern day take in the traditional penpal experience.

Come and join us, if you are not yet using Slowly.


Follow Blog via your Fediverse/Mastodon account :

@friends-near-and-afar-letters-we-share@wordsmith.social

This page created entirely in MarkDown language. Thank you for reading, feel free to comment about this post – reach me at my Koyu account.

... or post a comment in the Reddit thread for it here.

@yann2@koyu.space ^β€”top of page